Page 1 of 1

Catering for Different User Screen Resolutions

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:13 pm
by Ollie
How does one cater for different screen resolutions?

I have designed my screens for 800x600, assuming that it would suite most people, even those with large screens and finer resolutions. Typical data input screens e.g.:
Company: XXX Acc no. XXXX
Surname: XXXX Firstname: XXXX etc.

Some users that run 1024 x 768 and better have asked if the screen can be made large for them. How does one cater for this?

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:14 am
by ShumingWang
Hi,
1.Modify dialog.prg:

add

METHOD Autoresize(ntop,nleft)
local i,rsl0,rsl1,oCtrol,aRect
DEFAULT ntop:=0
DEFAULT nleft:=0


rsl0:=getsysmetrics(0)/800
if rsl0<=1; return ; end //<=800*600, not needed
rsl1:=getsysmetrics(1)/600
for i:=1 TO LEN(::acontrols)
oCtrol = ::aControls[i]
aRect = GetCoors( oCtrol:hWnd )
if oCtrol:classname()=="TCOMBOBOX"
oCtrol:Move( aRect[1]*rsl0, aRect[2]*rsl1)
else
oCtrol:Move( aRect[1]*rsl0, aRect[2]*rsl1, (aRect[4] - aRect[2])*rsl0, (aRect[3] - aRect[1])*rsl1, .t. )
end
next

aRect = GetWndRect( ::hWnd )

::Move( ntop,nleft,::nWidth*rsl0, ::nHeight*rsl1, .T. )

if ::lCentered
WndCenter( ::hWnd )
else
if Empty( ::cResName )
::Move( ::nTop, ::nLeft )
endif
endif


return

2. on app

activate dialog mydialog on init mydialog:autoresize()

3. need enhance , on 1280*800 wider screen , it's not work fine,it must set to normail, like 1280*1024, 1024*768, 800*600.

Regards

Shuming Wang

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:37 am
by Nop
hi, works in windows (mdi) too?? thanks

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:06 am
by ShumingWang
Not yet.