Mark field as required

INFORMAISVRB
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Mark field as required

Post by INFORMAISVRB »

Hello

partially works

But I would have to put an extra control
it would be interesting something in the GET for example.
Here's the tip for the next Fivewin updates
User avatar
karinha
Posts: 7885
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil
Contact:

Re: Mark field as required

Post by karinha »

INFORMAISVRB wrote:Hello

partially works

But I would have to put an extra control
it would be interesting something in the GET for example.
Here's the tip for the next Fivewin updates
Márcio, great idea. In this case, only Mister Nages can do it. Let's wait for Master Nages' opinion.

Sds.

Regards, saludos.
João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
User avatar
Marc Venken
Posts: 1481
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Mark field as required

Post by Marc Venken »

Look at this sample from Karinha, here you can put any bitmap into the get.

Code: Select all | Expand


// \SAMPLES\ARTIAGA.PRG - 14/02/2022

#include "fivewin.ch"

function main()

   local oWnd
   local oMenu

   menu oMenu

      MenuItem "From Code" action FromCode( oWnd )

      // MenuItem "From Resource" action FromrES( oWnd )

   endmenu

   define window oWnd title "Test GET with <F2>" menu oMenu pixel


   activate window oWnd MAXIMIZED

return oWnd

Function FromCode( oWnd )

   local oDlg
   local oGet1, oGet2, oGet3, oGet4
   local cVar1, cVar2, cVar3, cVar4
   local lActive := .f.

   cVar1 := 0
   cVar2 := 0
   cVar3 := 0
   cVar4 := 0

   define dialog oDlg title "Test GET with <F2>" pixel size 300,300

   oDlg:lHelpIcon := .F.

   @ 10,10 get oGet1 var cVar1 bitmap "..\bitmaps\on.bmp" ;
      action( TESTE_GET1() ) of oDlg pixel size 60,12

   oGet1:cToolTip := OemToAnsi( "<F2> - ACTION con F2 GET 1" )
   oGet1:lBtnTransparent := .T.       // transparent button
   // AQUI:
   oGet1:bKeyDown := { |nKey| IF( nKey == VK_F2, Eval( oGet1:bAction ), Nil ) }
   oGet1:lAdjustBtn      := .t.       // Button Get Adjust Witdh oGet3
   oGet1:lDisColors      := .f.       // Deactive disable color
   oGet1:nClrTextDis     := CLR_WHITE // Color text disable status
   oGet1:nClrPaneDis     := CLR_BLUE  // Color Pane disable status

   @ 40,10 get oGet2 var cVar2 bitmap "..\bitmaps\on.bmp" ;
      action( TESTE_GET2() ) of oDlg pixel size 60,12

   oGet2:cToolTip := OemToAnsi( "<F2> - ACTION con F2 GET 2" )
   oGet2:lBtnTransparent := .T.       // transparent button
   // AQUI:
   oGet2:bKeyDown := { |nKey| IF( nKey == VK_F2, Eval( oGet2:bAction ), Nil ) }
   oGet2:lAdjustBtn      := .t.       // Button Get Adjust Witdh oGet3
   oGet2:lDisColors      := .f.       // Deactive disable color
   oGet2:nClrTextDis     := CLR_WHITE // Color text disable status
   oGet2:nClrPaneDis     := CLR_BLUE  // Color Pane disable status

   @ 70,10 get oGet3 var cVar3 bitmap "..\bitmaps\chkyes.bmp" ;
      action( TESTE_GET3() ) of oDlg pixel size 120,12

   oGet3:cToolTip := OemToAnsi( "<F2> - ACTION con F2 GET 3" )
   oGet3:lBtnTransparent := .T.       // transparent button
   // AQUI:
   oGet3:bKeyDown := { |nKey| IF( nKey == VK_F2, Eval( oGet3:bAction ), Nil ) }
   oGet3:lAdjustBtn      := .t.       // Button Get Adjust Witdh oGet3
   oGet3:lDisColors      := .f.       // Deactive disable color
   oGet3:nClrTextDis     := CLR_WHITE // Color text disable status
   oGet3:nClrPaneDis     := CLR_BLUE  // Color Pane disable status

   @ 100,10 get oGet4 var cVar4 bitmap "..\bitmaps\chkyes.bmp" ;
      action( if( lActive,oGet3:disable(),oGet3:enable()), lActive:= !lActive, oDlg:update() ) of oDlg pixel size 120,12

   oGet4:lAdjustBtn      := .t.

   activate dialog oDlg centered

return nil

FUNCTION TESTE_GET1()

   ? "ACTION con tecla <F2> en GET1"

RETURN NIL

FUNCTION TESTE_GET2()

   ? "ACTION con tecla <F2> en GET2"

RETURN NIL

FUNCTION TESTE_GET3()

   ? "ACTION con tecla <F2> en GET3"

RETURN NIL


 
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
User avatar
karinha
Posts: 7885
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil
Contact:

Re: Mark field as required

Post by karinha »

New Version by Ricardo Marques.

Download Complete:

https://mega.nz/file/lVVRFDqS#bBZ63vcBU ... aL5wPcw0ls

Regards, saludos.
João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Mark field as required

Post by James Bott »

Alan Cooper in his book "About Face 2.0, The Essentials of Human Interaction Design" he makes the point that there shouldn't be any required fields.

When you think about it, this makes a lot of sense. Before computers, on a paper form, if there was any missing data, it was just left blank by the user. On a computer when we force them to enter something when they don't have that information, then they just put in anything so they can save the record. Or, they just select the Cancel button and thus all the other data is lost too.

Quote from "About Face":
This means that the software should keep track of who, what, where, how, and when the user is doing things, so that situation can be modified, rectified, or just plain understood at some later date. This is much more human than merely forcing the data into some arbitrary format whose correctness is judged mostly on its compliance to a file schema rather than to a human need.
My first idea was to just color "required" fields pink. These fields then turn white after data is entered.

Also, any data that appears to be in the wrong format, I color the field yellow. Thus in a phone field the user can type something like "ask Fred" instead of just leaving it blank. When a phone number is entered, the field turns white.

Records that have missing or questionable data are pink or yellow. Then in a browse, these records are flagged (with a flag icon) and thus can be easily found and dealt with if needed.

Yes it is complicated to code for all this, but if it was easy, then anyone could do it!
Last edited by James Bott on Tue Jul 25, 2023 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
User avatar
karinha
Posts: 7885
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil
Contact:

Re: Mark field as required

Post by karinha »

João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Mark field as required

Post by James Bott »

There is a serious issue when making fields required. If the user doesn't have that information, they will likely just put anything in the field so they can save the record.

An alternative is to allow the user to save the record even if some of the "required" data is unknown. You could then flag all the records missing the required data in a browse.

I color the backgrounds of "required" information in the dialog and flag the records missing "required" data with an icon of the same color in a browse. You could also filter a browse to contain only those records with missing "required" data. This allows the user (or any other user) to find the missing data at a later time and update the record.
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
Natter
Posts: 1226
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:49 am

Re: Mark field as required

Post by Natter »

You can do this:
@ 0,0 SAY "Test *" of oDlg//Monospaced font
@ 0, 6 GET of oDlg
oDlg:aControls[1]:SayText() //color the "*" symbol red

it works well, but it may need to be updated :SayText when moving the window off/on the screen
paquitohm
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:37 am

Re: Mark field as required

Post by paquitohm »

Hello,

In my case I had to modify the TGet class to achieve the desired effect. What effect? Well, some Gets were mandatory for the user to fill in and so those Gets are marked with a little triangle indicating their obligation when they are empty. It is true that this system is not valid for radio button or check button.

The changes to the TGet class consist of adding a new data bMandatory that returns .t. If the Get is mandatory and a call to a new method, in the ::Paint() method draw a triangle in the lower left corner of the TGet()

Image


Code: Select all | Expand

   // --------  DRAW TRIANGLE --------------------------------

   STATIC FUNCTION TriangleDraw( oGet, hDC, nLONG, nHIGHT, nPEN, nCOLOR )
   LOCAL hPen, hOldPen 

   Local nLeft:= 0
   #Define CHAPUCITO_ 2  // para cuando el pen es de tamaño de mas de 2
   Local nBottom:= oGet:nHeight- 1 + CHAPUCITO_
   Local nLon:= 10    // Resolution dependency missing

   Local nAlto:= nLon,;   
               nAncho:= nLon

   #Define SEP_ 0 //If(!lFlatEstilo(), 0, 2)  
   Local nLeftIni:= nLeft+ SEP_+ 1 ,;
         nBottomIni:= nBottom- SEP_- 3

         /*

            (2)
            | \
            |  \(5)
            |    \(4)
            |      \
            |        \
            |______\
           (1)      (3)

         */


Local hPen1, hBrus1, hOldBrush,; 
      vSolid
Local nColorNuevo:= CLR_BLUE   

vsolid:= {;
          {nLeftIni, nBottomIni        },;
          {nLeftIni, nBottomIni- nAlto },;
          {nLeftIni+ nAncho, nBottomIni} ;
         }




IF .t. //lFlatEstilo()
   nColorNuevo:= LightColor(50, CLR_RED) 
ENDIF

hPen1 := CreatePen( 0 , 1, nColorNuevo )
hBrush1  := CreateSolidBrush( nColorNuevo )

*
hOldBrush := SelectObject( hDC, hBrush1 )
hOldPen := SelectObject( hDC, hPen1 )
polypolygon( hDC, vsolid )


DeleteObject(hBrush1)
DeleteObject(hPen1)     


RETURN NIL

 
Regards
Post Reply