SQLite3 for [x]Harbour(mdy:2007.06.22:upgrade to 3.4.0)

SQLite3 for [x]Harbour(mdy:2007.06.22:upgrade to 3.4.0)

Postby ssbbs » Thu May 10, 2007 9:09 am

*2007.05.22: fix release.

If you use SQLite3, you don't need any .dll and can option your DB and use SQL statement.

like SELECT * from test... INSERT INTO ... DELETE FROM ... UPDATE ...
and only one file '.db'.

reference http://www.sqlite.org

Now you can use it into your AP,
Download it from:http://www4.zzz.com.tw/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=38.

This is a SQLite3 for xHarbour/Harbour CLASS.

SQLite speed can reference http://www.sqlite.org/cvstrac/search?s=SpeedComparison&w=1
Last edited by ssbbs on Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby James Bott » Thu May 10, 2007 2:52 pm

Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Postby ssbbs » Fri May 11, 2007 3:38 am

James Bott wrote:Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?

James


What is 'one field type-character' ?
DO you say hbsqlite for sqlite2 ?
No, I'm rewrite it and use OOP method control it,
and up to sqlite3, so, You can use it like TMySQL ...
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby hua » Fri May 11, 2007 8:28 am

James wrote:Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?

You can find the data types here James.


From SQLite FAQ, "Multiple processes can have the same database open at the same time. Multiple processes can be doing a SELECT at the same time. But only one process can be making changes to the database at any moment in time, however."

Wouldn't this spell trouble for multi-user apps?

I'm interested in trying out Firebird though. Anyone already using Firebird willing to share their experience?
hua
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:27 am

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri May 11, 2007 8:36 am

Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41858
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby thefull » Fri May 11, 2007 8:59 am

Antonio Linares wrote:Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD :-)


But... ADORDD is only for Windows.
SqliTe3 is multiplataform..

Regards.
Rafa Carmona
User avatar
thefull
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Postby thefull » Fri May 11, 2007 9:03 am

Please, you confirm type license ,it is GPL ?

I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
Saludos
Rafa Carmona ( rafa.thefullARROBAgmail.com___quitalineas__)
User avatar
thefull
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Barcelona

Postby ssbbs » Fri May 11, 2007 9:16 am

Antonio Linares wrote:Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD :-)


aboriginal ADO for SQLite3 is need money.
If use ADO -> ODBC32 -> SQLite3 is free
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Postby ssbbs » Fri May 11, 2007 9:18 am

thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.


My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew). :D
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Postby thefull » Fri May 11, 2007 9:59 am

ssbbs wrote:
thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.


My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew). :D


Welll, i accept 3.X.X, but you not respond a my question....
Is it FREE or NOT ?

Thank.
Saludos
Rafa Carmona ( rafa.thefullARROBAgmail.com___quitalineas__)
User avatar
thefull
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Postby ssbbs » Fri May 11, 2007 11:44 am

thefull wrote:
ssbbs wrote:
thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.


My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew). :D


Welll, i accept 3.X.X, but you not respond a my question....
Is it FREE or NOT ?

Thank.


Yes, it is freeware.
You can use it into your AP and don't pay money!! :lol:
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby James Bott » Fri May 11, 2007 4:23 pm

ssbbs,

>From SQLite FAQ, "Multiple processes can have the same database open at the same time. Multiple processes can be doing a SELECT at the same time. But only one process can be making changes to the database at any moment in time, however."

>Wouldn't this spell trouble for multi-user apps?

It is an issue, but it doesn't mean that it can't be used for a multiuser app. It does lock the entire database to make updates (more like makes it readonly). So, two users cannot make updates at exactly the same time, but this only takes a split second. For small numbers of users this may not be an issue at all.

So for smaller numbers of users it provides many advantages, some of which are (as you already mentioned) that all the data resides in one file and there is no separate setup or maintenance required. This makes it good for off-the-self applications for small companies that don't have full-time IT people.

You can use standard SQL syntax. And now that it supports numeric and blobs it looks even more interesting.

And the price is right! Free and royalty-free.

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Postby ssbbs » Fri May 11, 2007 4:46 pm

James Bott wrote:It is an issue, but it doesn't mean that it can't be used for a multiuser app. It does lock the entire database to make updates (more like makes it readonly). So, two users cannot make updates at exactly the same time, but this only takes a split second. For small numbers of users this may not be an issue at all.


full reference:http://www.sqlite.org/faq.html#q7

YES!! SQLite3 can be use on multi-user,
But have some limit you must to deference.

SQLite3 have not server program to manage .DB,
So, it fix local .DB like 'DBF' to lock/unlock.

May be you have listen firebird embed, it's only one people can access it.
SQLite can let you access via multi-user but option like DBF.

I think this is enough!!
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby José Luis Sánchez » Sat May 12, 2007 6:22 am

Hello:
Does your lib manage sqlite without any DLL,or I have to download the DLL version of Sqlite ?

Regards from Spain,
User avatar
José Luis Sánchez
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Novelda - Alicante - España

Postby ssbbs » Sat May 12, 2007 11:32 am

José Luis Sánchez wrote:Hello:
Does your lib manage sqlite without any DLL,or I have to download the DLL version of Sqlite ?



No!! Doesn't need any '.DLL'.
It's clean!!
User avatar
ssbbs
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am
Location: Taiwan

Next

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests