MySQL - ADO Query problem

MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:33 am

Hi,

I have an unexpected result when I run a Query in SQL with ADO.

When I run oQry = oSQL:execute("SELECT * FROM klanten")
Then I can do
FOR i = 0 to len(oqry:Fields())
?oQry:Fields(i):value
NEXT i

but when I run oQry = oSQL:execute("SELECT NAAM FROM klanten")
Then I get an error because Fields(1) doesn't exist
I thought that Fields(1) now was holding the info of the first field in the query. It seems that that is the first field in tha table.
I can get the information with oQry:Fields("NAAM"):value

I have create a subroutine that give me the result of a query in a database, but it doesn'n work when not all the fields are requested.
How can I know the fieldnames retured by a query? That's why I was using oQry:Fields(i):value instead of the name.
With Qry:Fields(i):name I know the name.
Regards,
Marc

FWH32+xHarbour | FWH64+Harbour | BCC | DBF | ADO+MySQL | ADO+MariaDB | ADO+SQLite
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:04 pm

You have to use Recordset object. Please look at the samples.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8715
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:30 pm

Enrico Maria Giordano wrote:You have to use Recordset object. Please look at the samples.

EMG


My mistake

I had to use oQry:Fields(0):value instead of oQry:Fields(1):value :oops:
Regards,
Marc

FWH32+xHarbour | FWH64+Harbour | BCC | DBF | ADO+MySQL | ADO+MariaDB | ADO+SQLite
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:45 pm

Yes, but please look at Recordset object too. It's more common to use it instead of Execute() method for row-returning queries.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8715
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:32 am

Enrico Maria Giordano wrote:Yes, but please look at Recordset object too. It's more common to use it instead of Execute() method for row-returning queries.

EMG


I have try with the recordset, but with no luck.

This is my code
Code: Select all  Expand view
oRs :=TOleAuto():new("ADODB.RecordSet")
oRs:cursortype :=1
oRs:cursorlocation :=3
oRs:locktype :=3
oRs:open('SELECT * FROM planning','Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=127.0.0.1;Initial Catalog=pla;User Id=myuser;Password=mypassword')
 


The oRs:open gives an error/

This code is what I'm using now and this is working fine, but no recordsets :(
Code: Select all  Expand view
cConnectSring:="Driver={MySQL ODBC 5.1 Driver};Server=127.0.0.1;Port=3306;Database=pla;User=myuser;Password=mypassword;Option=3;"
oSQL:=CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
oSQL:ConnectionString:=cConnectSring
oSQL:Open()
oQry = oSQL:Execute('SELECT * FROM planning')
 


What can be the problem?
Regards,
Marc

FWH32+xHarbour | FWH64+Harbour | BCC | DBF | ADO+MySQL | ADO+MariaDB | ADO+SQLite
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:50 am

Marc Vanzegbroeck wrote:
Code: Select all  Expand view
oRs :=TOleAuto():new("ADODB.RecordSet")


Try

Code: Select all  Expand view
oRs = CREATEOBJECT( "ADODB.Recordset" )


EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8715
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:51 am

And try using the same connection string. Why are you using a different one?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8715
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:53 am

Enrico Maria Giordano wrote:
Marc Vanzegbroeck wrote:
Code: Select all  Expand view
oRs :=TOleAuto():new("ADODB.RecordSet")


Try

Code: Select all  Expand view
oRs = CREATEOBJECT( "ADODB.Recordset" )


EMG


Same result..
Code: Select all  Expand view
Application
===========
   Path and name: c:\FWH\MySQL\ADO\testado.exe (32 bits)
   Size: 1,302,528 bytes
   Time from start: 0 hours 0 mins 1 secs
   Error occurred at: 10/09/12, 11:52:00
   Error description: Error ADODB.RecordSet/16389  E_FAIL: OPEN
   Args:
     [   1] = C   SELECT * FROM planning
     [   2] = C   Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=127.0.0.1;Initial Catalog=pla;User Id=myuser;Password=mypassword
Regards,
Marc

FWH32+xHarbour | FWH64+Harbour | BCC | DBF | ADO+MySQL | ADO+MariaDB | ADO+SQLite
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:09 am

Enrico Maria Giordano wrote:And try using the same connection string. Why are you using a different one?

EMG


I was looking in the forum and always found an example like Driver={MySQL ODBC 5.1 ... with CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
and 'Provider=MySQLProv... with CREATEOBJECT( "ADODB.Recordset" ) .. :?

It's working with the same connectionstring!!!! :D
Regards,
Marc

FWH32+xHarbour | FWH64+Harbour | BCC | DBF | ADO+MySQL | ADO+MariaDB | ADO+SQLite
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Rick Lipkin » Tue Oct 09, 2012 12:55 pm

Marc

Have a look at these connection strings for My Sql .. here is the connection for My Sql OLEDB:

http://connectionstrings.com/mysql#mysq ... -mysqlprov

MySQL OLEDB
Type OLE DB Provider
Usage Provider=MySQLProv
Manufacturer MySQL

Set example values
Standard

Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=mydb;User Id=myUsername;Password=myPassword;

Code: Select all  Expand view


xConnect := "Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=mydb;User Id=myUsername;Password=myPassword"

cSql := "SELECT * FROM planning"

oRsPlan := TOleAuto():New( "ADODB.Recordset" )
oRsPlan:CursorType     := 1        // opendkeyset
oRsPlan:CursorLocation := 3        // local cache
oRsPlan:LockType       := 3        // lockoportunistic

TRY
   oRsPlan:Open( cSQL,xCONNECT )
CATCH oErr
   MsgInfo( "Error in Opening PLANNING table" )
   RETURN(.F.)
END TRY

xBrowse( oRsPlan )
 


Also .. make sure you have the correct MySql Oledb provider .. check out this website and scroll down to the bottom for the different type of providers. Also look at the Vb examples .. they have some different connection strings to try as well.

http://cherrycitysoftware.com/ccs/provi ... MySQL.aspx

Rick Lipkin
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: MySQL - ADO Query problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:33 pm

Rick Lipkin wrote:Marc

Have a look at these connection strings for My Sql .. here is the connection for My Sql OLEDB:

http://connectionstrings.com/mysql#mysq ... -mysqlprov

MySQL OLEDB
Type OLE DB Provider
Usage Provider=MySQLProv
Manufacturer MySQL

Set example values
Standard

Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=mydb;User Id=myUsername;Password=myPassword;

Code: Select all  Expand view


xConnect := "Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=mydb;User Id=myUsername;Password=myPassword"

cSql := "SELECT * FROM planning"

oRsPlan := TOleAuto():New( "ADODB.Recordset" )
oRsPlan:CursorType     := 1        // opendkeyset
oRsPlan:CursorLocation := 3        // local cache
oRsPlan:LockType       := 3        // lockoportunistic

TRY
   oRsPlan:Open( cSQL,xCONNECT )
CATCH oErr
   MsgInfo( "Error in Opening PLANNING table" )
   RETURN(.F.)
END TRY

xBrowse( oRsPlan )
 


Also .. make sure you have the correct MySql Oledb provider .. check out this website and scroll down to the bottom for the different type of providers. Also look at the Vb examples .. they have some different connection strings to try as well.

http://cherrycitysoftware.com/ccs/provi ... MySQL.aspx

Rick Lipkin


Rick,

Thanks for your example, but with Provider=MySQLProv;Data Source=pla;User Id=myuser;Password=mypassword; I get also an error but {MySQL ODBC 5.1 Driver};Server=127.0.0.1;Port=3306;Database=pla;User=myuser;Password=mypassword;Option=3; is working fine
Regards,
Marc

FWH32+xHarbour | FWH64+Harbour | BCC | DBF | ADO+MySQL | ADO+MariaDB | ADO+SQLite
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests