FiveTouch for Android (initial tests)
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42660
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 69 times
- Been thanked: 96 times
- Contact:
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42660
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 69 times
- Been thanked: 96 times
- Contact:
Re: FiveTouch for Android (initial tests)
You can test it from here:
https://www.manymo.com/emulators
https://www.manymo.com/emulators/95/connect
Go to the browser, look for google code fivedroid and download fivetouch.apk
https://www.manymo.com/emulators
https://www.manymo.com/emulators/95/connect
Go to the browser, look for google code fivedroid and download fivetouch.apk
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42660
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 69 times
- Been thanked: 96 times
- Contact:
Re: FiveTouch for Android (initial tests)
Unfortunately those emulators seems to use x86 without houdini
- Enrico Maria Giordano
- Posts: 8770
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
- Location: Roma - Italia
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 7 times
- Contact:
Re: FiveTouch for Android (initial tests)
Antonio,
What does it mean? Can it be still used to test FTxA?
EMG
Antonio Linares wrote:Unfortunately those emulators seems to use x86 without houdini
What does it mean? Can it be still used to test FTxA?
EMG
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42660
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 69 times
- Been thanked: 96 times
- Contact:
Re: FiveTouch for Android (initial tests)
Enrico,
Android most common used architecture is ARM and running in 32 bits. When Harbour for Android gets built, it is for ARM 32 bits:
https://code.google.com/p/fivedroid/downloads/detail?name=harbour32_android_20130620.zip
the entire Harbour is in libharbour.so which it is placed inside the APK (application package. It is a ZIP file with several folders. Similar to OSX executables in the sense that they have multiples files inside the "executable", but compressed into ZIP renamed as APK.
So Harbour lib (ARM) is inside the APK. Android uses java, also FiveTouch. And java engine runs on both ARM and x86 intel. So it is just our library the one that requires ARM.
Intel developed "Houdini", a runtime translator-executor from ARM to x86. The idea was to run Android apps on x86 architecture too without having to modify any code. In other words: Houdini will translate Harbour.so from ARM to Intel in runtime, and according to Intel and testers, the result is very efficient.
So if we are going to run FiveTouch.apk on an Android for x86 architecture, the Android needs to have Houdini installed on it. I still don't know how to install it, but I wil dig into this. Suposedly there is nothing to care about from the user point of view. It works invisible to the user
So for now (until we discover how easy or not is to install Houdini) we can't use those emulators for FiveTouch
Android most common used architecture is ARM and running in 32 bits. When Harbour for Android gets built, it is for ARM 32 bits:
https://code.google.com/p/fivedroid/downloads/detail?name=harbour32_android_20130620.zip
the entire Harbour is in libharbour.so which it is placed inside the APK (application package. It is a ZIP file with several folders. Similar to OSX executables in the sense that they have multiples files inside the "executable", but compressed into ZIP renamed as APK.
So Harbour lib (ARM) is inside the APK. Android uses java, also FiveTouch. And java engine runs on both ARM and x86 intel. So it is just our library the one that requires ARM.
Intel developed "Houdini", a runtime translator-executor from ARM to x86. The idea was to run Android apps on x86 architecture too without having to modify any code. In other words: Houdini will translate Harbour.so from ARM to Intel in runtime, and according to Intel and testers, the result is very efficient.
So if we are going to run FiveTouch.apk on an Android for x86 architecture, the Android needs to have Houdini installed on it. I still don't know how to install it, but I wil dig into this. Suposedly there is nothing to care about from the user point of view. It works invisible to the user

So for now (until we discover how easy or not is to install Houdini) we can't use those emulators for FiveTouch
- Enrico Maria Giordano
- Posts: 8770
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
- Location: Roma - Italia
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 7 times
- Contact: