mod_harbour FAQ

mod_harbour is an Apache module that allows to run PRGs directly on the web !!!
Post Reply
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42508
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Antonio Linares »

1. What is mod_harbour ?

mod_harbour is an extension module for Apache that allows you to run PRGs directly on the web, without having to build EXEs, etc.

You simply install mod_harbour on an Apache server (running locally on your computer or on a remote PC) and you start running your PRGs on the web !!!

Next, you need to understand how to develop web apps but, don't worry, we provide lots of examples so you can quick start using it

Please review this live demo built using mod_harbour (pure Harbour!)
https://harbour.fourtech.es/modharbour_samples/genesis/index.prg

Finally, mod_harbour is totally free and open source. Wow !!! :-D

2. Where to download it from ?

https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/mod_harbour

3. How to install it ?

1. Copy this mod_harbour.so to c:\xampp\apache\modules
https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/mod_harbour/blob/master/windows/win32/mod_harbour.so

2. Copy this libharbour.dll to c:\xampp\htdocs
https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/mod_harbour/blob/master/windows/win32/libharbour.dll

3. Add these lines to the bottom of c:\xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf

Code: Select all | Expand

LoadModule harbour_module modules/mod_harbour.so

<FilesMatch "\.(prg|hrb)$">
    SetEnv LIBHARBOUR "c:/xampp/htdocs"
    SetHandler harbour
</FilesMatch>

4. Create a test.prg at c:\xampp\htdocs:

Code: Select all | Expand

function Main()

   ? "Hello world"

return nil

5. From your browser go to localhost/test.prg
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Ruth
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:26 pm
Contact:

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Ruth »

Dear Antonio,

i just wanted to visit the demo built in mod_harbour
https://harbour.fourtech.es/modharbour_ ... /index.prg
It seems to me that the link is not working. Please can you help me.

Kind regards and thanks in advance
Ruth
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42508
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Antonio Linares »

Dear Ruth,

We are looking for a dedicated server to host the mod_harbour examples

It may be Linux or Windows

thank you for your feedback
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Romeo
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:53 pm
Location: Milan (Italy)

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Romeo »

Ciao
I installed :
1. Copy this mod_harbour.so to c:\xampp\apache\modules
https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/mod_har ... harbour.so

2. Copy this libharbour.dll to c:\xampp\htdocs
https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/mod_har ... arbour.dll

3. Add these lines to the bottom of c:\xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf
**********************
LoadModule harbour_module modules/mod_harbour.so

<FilesMatch "\.(prg|hrb)$">
SetEnv LIBHARBOUR "c:/xampp/htdocs"
SetHandler harbour
</FilesMatch>
*********************


Then i Created a test.prg at c:\xampp\htdocs:
************
function Main()

? "Hello world"

return nil
*************


But when i run it at: http://localhost/test.prg

i got this error:
********************
mod_harbour version May 13 2020, 12:49:18
c:/xampp/htdocs
Impossibile trovare il modulo specificato.
failed to load hb_apache()

*********************


Where i wronged ?

Maybe because i have windows 7 at 32bit ?

Grazie
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42508
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Antonio Linares »

Dear Romeo,

Please copy these DLLs where libharbour.dll is placed:

https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/mod_harbour/tree/master/windows/win32/required
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Romeo
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:53 pm
Location: Milan (Italy)

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Romeo »

Ciao Antonio,

i did it, but i got the same error:
*******************************
mod_harbour version May 13 2020, 12:49:18
c:/xampp/htdocs
Impossibile trovare il modulo specificato.
failed to load hb_apache()
*********************

Directory of c:\xampp\apache\modules
09/04/2022 16:44 77.312 mod_harbour.so

Directory of c:\xampp\htdocs
11/04/2022 16:42 1.099.776 libeay32.dll
09/04/2022 16:44 5.623.808 libharbour.dll
30/07/2021 18:12 349.184 libssh2.dll
30/07/2021 18:12 33.102 libssh2.lib
11/04/2022 16:43 120.828 libssl2.zip (i unzipped it)


Just for your information: my XAMPP is normally working with my php file

Grazie for help
User avatar
Otto
Posts: 6403
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Otto »

Romeo,

Does it make sense to still struggle with a 32 bit system.
Can't you install 64 bit?
You will be left out.


Best regards,
Otto



windows 7 at 32bit
January 14, 2020
Support for Windows 7 has ended. After 10 years, support for Windows 7 ended on January 14, 2020.
Windows 7 End of Support Info - Microsoft
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org
https://www.facebook.com/groups/modharbour.club
********************************************************************
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42508
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Antonio Linares »

Romeo,

Please try copying the DLLs to c:\xampp\apache\bin\

thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Romeo
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:53 pm
Location: Milan (Italy)

Re: mod_harbour FAQ

Post by Romeo »

I tried to copy the DLLs to c:\xampp\apache\bin\


But i got the same error


I will use another PC with 64bit to run it

Grazie

Ciao
Post Reply