Error system not working ?
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Error system not working ?
I had used errsysw_ for many months and it had been working fine. I had modified it slightly. Suddenly with 13.08 it wasn't working.
I tried not declaring an error system ( so errsys would come in by default ) but it also fails to work.
I set a button to call MsgInfo( BadData ) which should cause an error because BadData is not defined. Instead, I just get a message that the program quit working.
What changed recently, and what do I need to do to get this working again ? It is the same with Harbour / MSVC and xHarbour (.com) builds.
Thanks.
I tried not declaring an error system ( so errsys would come in by default ) but it also fails to work.
I set a button to call MsgInfo( BadData ) which should cause an error because BadData is not defined. Instead, I just get a message that the program quit working.
What changed recently, and what do I need to do to get this working again ? It is the same with Harbour / MSVC and xHarbour (.com) builds.
Thanks.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Tim,
I have just tested FWH/samples/testerro.prg and worked fine, please try it.
Could you provide an example to reproduce what you described ? thanks
I have just tested FWH/samples/testerro.prg and worked fine, please try it.
Could you provide an example to reproduce what you described ? thanks
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
This also worked as expected: (tested with both Borland and MSVC)
Code: Select all | Expand
#include "FiveWin.ch"
//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
function Main()
MsgInfo( "An error is going to be generated", "Press to continue" )
// USE NotFound
MsgInfo( badData )
return nil
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Antonio,
It is likely the problem will arise in a conflict with a library or file I'm linking in.
Errorsys is working correctly with FWH 13.08 and MSVC.
It is failing with xHarbour ( .com ).
I use the same code files when building with either compiler/linker. However, you have me including the following files when building with xHarbour ( .com ):
xHb2HbFunc.prg
contains the following 2 functions:
FUNCTION ActXPDispPtr( cObjActX )
RETURN ActXPDisp( cObjActX )
function FWOpenPngFile()
return 0
harbor.prg 9/4/2012
xhb.obj 6/10/2009
mem32.lib 9/29/2011
send32.lib 11/22/2011
Using a simple process of elimination, it would be likely that there is a problem with one of those files which is causing the error system to fail. I don't think I will see that with the sample you suggest.
Tim
It is likely the problem will arise in a conflict with a library or file I'm linking in.
Errorsys is working correctly with FWH 13.08 and MSVC.
It is failing with xHarbour ( .com ).
I use the same code files when building with either compiler/linker. However, you have me including the following files when building with xHarbour ( .com ):
xHb2HbFunc.prg
contains the following 2 functions:
FUNCTION ActXPDispPtr( cObjActX )
RETURN ActXPDisp( cObjActX )
function FWOpenPngFile()
return 0
harbor.prg 9/4/2012
xhb.obj 6/10/2009
mem32.lib 9/29/2011
send32.lib 11/22/2011
Using a simple process of elimination, it would be likely that there is a problem with one of those files which is causing the error system to fail. I don't think I will see that with the sample you suggest.
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Antonio,
I still have the error problem with xHarbour. Please see the previous post on this thread. There are two functions and 3 libs which are the ONLY difference between the successful error system with Harbour/MSVC, and the failed xHarbour.com implementation:
harbor.prg
mem32.lib
send32.lib
Note the older dates. Also please note the two functions you have had me use which are also shown.
Are there newer versions of these files ?
Tim
I still have the error problem with xHarbour. Please see the previous post on this thread. There are two functions and 3 libs which are the ONLY difference between the successful error system with Harbour/MSVC, and the failed xHarbour.com implementation:
harbor.prg
mem32.lib
send32.lib
Note the older dates. Also please note the two functions you have had me use which are also shown.
Are there newer versions of these files ?
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Tim,
Please add this function to your app to see if this is the problem (it is something that we commented in the past):
function nExtMem()
return 0
Please add this function to your app to see if this is the problem (it is something that we commented in the past):
function nExtMem()
return 0
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
No it was not creating a log file.
Yes, that function fixed the problem.
Thank you.
Tim
Yes, that function fixed the problem.
Thank you.
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
The default Errorsys is working.
Errsysw_ is not. This is the nicer one because it allows a customer to take an action and email the error log to support immediately ( a huge service ).
Tim
Errsysw_ is not. This is the nicer one because it allows a customer to take an action and email the error log to support immediately ( a huge service ).
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
Re: Error system not working ?
Antonio
Con la ultima version de FWH no me salen los errores, solo un dialogo indicándome el error tal y como indicaba Tim en sus post anteriores y tampoco genera el error.log
Si incluyo Errosys.prg en el proyecto, si me genera el error.log
He probado tal y como indicas añadiendo la funcion que has puesto, y, si no añado el programa errorsys.prg tampoco me genera el error.log
Cuando he probado el programa testerro.prg de samples si me crea el error.log
Pero, cosa curiosa, en mi error.log de mi aplicacion si me sale la version correcta de FWH y, sin embargo, en el error.log del programa testerro.prg aparece FWH 13.07
También señalar que los ficheros error.log que genera no son tan descriptivos y completos como antes
Uso Windows 8 64 bits
Adjunto el del testerro.prg
Anthony
With the latest version of FWH not I get errors, just a dialog telling me the error as indicated Tim in his previous post and does not generate the error.log
If Errosys.prg included in the project, if I generate the error.log
I tried just adding the function as you indicate that you post, and if I do not add me either program generates errorsys.prg error.log
When I tested the program testerro.prg of samples if I make the error.log
But, curiously, in my error.log (from my application I get the correct version) and yet in the error.log testerro.prg program appears FWH 13.07
Also note that the error.log files generated are not as descriptive and complete as before
Using 64-bit Windows 8
Enclosed is the testerro.prg
Con la ultima version de FWH no me salen los errores, solo un dialogo indicándome el error tal y como indicaba Tim en sus post anteriores y tampoco genera el error.log
Si incluyo Errosys.prg en el proyecto, si me genera el error.log
He probado tal y como indicas añadiendo la funcion que has puesto, y, si no añado el programa errorsys.prg tampoco me genera el error.log
Cuando he probado el programa testerro.prg de samples si me crea el error.log
Pero, cosa curiosa, en mi error.log de mi aplicacion si me sale la version correcta de FWH y, sin embargo, en el error.log del programa testerro.prg aparece FWH 13.07
También señalar que los ficheros error.log que genera no son tan descriptivos y completos como antes
Uso Windows 8 64 bits
Adjunto el del testerro.prg
Code: Select all | Expand
Application
===========
Path and name: C:\Fwh\Fwh1308_3\samples\testerro.exe (32 bits)
Size: 2,892,800 bytes
Compiler version: Harbour 3.2.0dev (r1306132159)
FiveWin Version: FWH 13.07
Windows version: 6.2, Build 9200
Time from start: 0 hours 0 mins 1 secs
Error occurred at: 10/15/13, 22:26:50
Error description: (DOS Error 2) DBFNTX/1001 Open error: NotFound.dbf
Stack Calls
===========
Called from: => DBUSEAREA( 0 )
Called from: testerro.prg => MAIN( 11 )
System
======
CPU type: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz 2300 Mhz
Hardware memory: 8152 megs
Free System resources: 90 %
GDI resources: 90 %
User resources: 90 %
Windows total applications running: 2
1 ,
2 Conmutación de tareas, C:\Fwh\Fwh1308_3\samples\testerro.exe
Variables in use
================
Procedure Type Value
==========================
DBUSEAREA
Param 1: O Class: ERROR
MAIN
Param 1: L .F.
Param 2: U
Param 3: C "NotFound"
Param 4: U
Param 5: U
Param 6: L .F.
Local 1: U
Local 2: U
Linked RDDs
===========
DBF
DBFFPT
DBFBLOB
DBFNTX
DataBases in use
================
Classes in use:
===============
1 ERROR
2 HBCLASS
3 HBOBJECT
4 TREG32
Memory Analysis
===============
194 Static variables
Dynamic memory consume:
Actual Value: 0 bytes
Highest Value: 0 bytes
Anthony
With the latest version of FWH not I get errors, just a dialog telling me the error as indicated Tim in his previous post and does not generate the error.log
If Errosys.prg included in the project, if I generate the error.log
I tried just adding the function as you indicate that you post, and if I do not add me either program generates errorsys.prg error.log
When I tested the program testerro.prg of samples if I make the error.log
But, curiously, in my error.log (from my application I get the correct version) and yet in the error.log testerro.prg program appears FWH 13.07
Also note that the error.log files generated are not as descriptive and complete as before
Using 64-bit Windows 8
Enclosed is the testerro.prg
Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Cristobal,
Puedes proporcionar un PRG de ejemplo en el que ocurra ? gracias
Puedes proporcionar un PRG de ejemplo en el que ocurra ? gracias
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Antonio,
Did you see my note above on errsysw_ ? The one included in the 13.08 Source files is not working ...
Tim
Did you see my note above on errsysw_ ? The one included in the 13.08 Source files is not working ...
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Tim,
You mentioned that you have modified it, please post your changes here so we can test it.
What error do you get ? No error at all ?
We have not included that errorsys as the standard one in FWH as we found that it should be modified. It is pending, and it is great that you provide us feedback about it![Smile :-)](./images/smilies/icon_smile.gif)
You mentioned that you have modified it, please post your changes here so we can test it.
What error do you get ? No error at all ?
We have not included that errorsys as the standard one in FWH as we found that it should be modified. It is pending, and it is great that you provide us feedback about it
![Smile :-)](./images/smilies/icon_smile.gif)
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Antonio,
My original one was modified, but that is NOT the one I tested. I took the one from 13.08 in the source files, unmodified, and linked that in, but it failed.
The only changes I had made were to add several lines to the output to identify the computer used, and the company name. I was able to add those to the standard errorsys file in 13.08, and they were fine. However, the expanded program you distribute, without any changes ( errsysw_.prg ) fails. It does not give an error message.
Tim
My original one was modified, but that is NOT the one I tested. I took the one from 13.08 in the source files, unmodified, and linked that in, but it failed.
The only changes I had made were to add several lines to the output to identify the computer used, and the company name. I was able to add those to the standard errorsys file in 13.08, and they were fine. However, the expanded program you distribute, without any changes ( errsysw_.prg ) fails. It does not give an error message.
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42521
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Error system not working ?
Tim,
We don't use that errorsys (errorsys_.prg) yet. We just included it in the sources to keep a copy of it as we plan to include it once is tested and works fine.
I am going to test it and see what I find. Thanks for your feedback
We don't use that errorsys (errorsys_.prg) yet. We just included it in the sources to keep a copy of it as we plan to include it once is tested and works fine.
I am going to test it and see what I find. Thanks for your feedback