Page 1 of 2

function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:52 pm
by lucasdebeltran
Hello,

As the sintax is different, is there a function to créate tables for either Access or MySQL?.

Thank you.

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:37 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Lucas,

lucasdebeltran wrote:Hello,

As the sintax is different, is there a function to créate tables for either Access or MySQL?.

Thank you.


This is the function I'm using:

Code: Select all  Expand view
STATIC FUNCTION ADDTABLE( cMot, cTab, aFld )

    LOCAL cQuery := "CREATE TABLE " + cTab + " ( "

    LOCAL cType

    LOCAL i

    IF cMot == "JET"
        cQuery += "Id COUNTER PRIMARY KEY, "
    ELSEIF cMot == "MSSQL"
        cQuery += "Id INT IDENTITY PRIMARY KEY, "
    ELSEIF cMot == "MYSQL"
        cQuery += "Id SERIAL, "
    ENDIF

    FOR i = 1 TO LEN( aFld )
        cType = aFld[ i, DBS_TYPE ]

        DO CASE
            CASE cType = "C"
                cQuery += aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + " VARCHAR ( " + NTRIM( aFld[ i, DBS_LEN ] ) + " ), "
            CASE cType = "N"
                cQuery += aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + " NUMERIC ( " + NTRIM( aFld[ i, DBS_LEN ] ) + ", " + NTRIM( aFld[ i, DBS_DEC ] ) + " ), "
            CASE cType = "D"
                cQuery += aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + " DATETIME, "
            CASE cType = "L"
                cQuery += aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + " INT, "
            CASE cType = "M"
                IF cMot == "JET"
                    cQuery += "[" + aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + "]" + " MEMO, "
                ELSEIF cMot == "MSSQL"
                    cQuery += "[" + aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + "]" + " TEXT, "
                ELSEIF cMot == "MYSQL"
                    cQuery += aFld[ i, DBS_NAME ] + " TEXT, "
                ENDIF
        ENDCASE
    NEXT

    cQuery = STRIM( cQuery, 2 ) + " )"

    SQLEXEC( cQuery )

    RETURN NIL


EMG

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:40 pm
by Antonio Linares
Enrico,

Where are functions STrim(), NTrim() and SqlExec() ? thanks

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:45 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Antonio,

Antonio Linares wrote:Enrico,

Where are functions STrim(), NTrim() and SqlExec() ? thanks


Code: Select all  Expand view
#define STRIM( cStr, nChr ) Left( cStr, Len( cStr ) - nChr )
#define NTRIM( nNumber ) LTrim( Str( nNumber ) )

FUNCTION SQLEXEC( cQuery )

    LOCAL cCns := "Your connectionstring here"

    LOCAL oCn := CREATEOBJECT( "ADODB.Connection" )

    oCn:CursorLocation = adUseClient

    oCn:Open( cCns )

    oCn:Execute( cQuery )

    oCn:Close()

    RETURN NIL


EMG

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:48 pm
by lucasdebeltran
Mr. Enrico,

Thank you very much, but I always get, either MYSQL or MSACCESS:

Incorrect arguments, out of range or in conflict with others. (0x800A0BB9)


What I am doing wrong?.

Thank you.

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:12 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Lucas,

lucasdebeltran wrote:Mr. Enrico,

Thank you very much, but I always get, either MYSQL or MSACCESS:

Incorrect arguments, out of range or in conflict with others. (0x800A0BB9)


What I am doing wrong?.

Thank you.


Please, show me how are you calling the function. A reduced and self-contained sample would be better.

EMG

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:25 pm
by lucasdebeltran
Mr. Enrico,

I have to open the connection using oCn2:CursorLocation = adUseClient.

I was using my own Exec function, but in yours is that set on. Now it is working fine.


Also, in MySQL, when creating a table, this sets up auto_increment feature and it is managed by MySQL:

cQuery += "ID INTEGER NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT, PRIMARY KEY(ID), "



What is the equivalent please for MS Access?.

For MsAccess, I tried with NO luck:

cQuery += "Id INT IDENTITY PRIMARY KEY, "


But the auto increment feature is not managed propelly, I always get 0 at the Id field. Anything else to set up?.

Thank you.

Best regards

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:36 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
lucasdebeltran wrote:Mr. Enrico,

I have to open the connection using oCn2:CursorLocation = adUseClient.

I was using my own Exec function, but in yours is that set on. Now it is working fine.


I don't understand but ok, that's good. :-)

lucasdebeltran wrote:Also, in MySQL, when creating a table, this sets up auto_increment feature and it is managed by MySQL:

cQuery += "ID INTEGER NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT, PRIMARY KEY(ID), "



What is the equivalent please for MS Access?.

For MsAccess, I tried with NO luck:

cQuery += "Id INT IDENTITY PRIMARY KEY, "


But the auto increment feature is not managed propelly, I always get 0 at the Id field. Anything else to set up?.

Thank you.

Best regards


Please look at my function:

Code: Select all  Expand view
   IF cMot == "JET"
        cQuery += "Id COUNTER PRIMARY KEY, "


EMG

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:38 am
by lucasdebeltran
Mr. Enrico,

Thank you, but with your function the result is the same, with Access and ADO autoincrement fields are not managed.

With MySQL is fine.

Anything else has to be done?.

Thanks.

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:42 am
by Richard Chidiak
Lucas

What provider do you use to connect to Mysql with ADO ?

Richard

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:16 am
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Lucas,

lucasdebeltran wrote:Mr. Enrico,

Thank you, but with your function the result is the same, with Access and ADO autoincrement fields are not managed.

With MySQL is fine.

Anything else has to be done?.

Thanks.


My function works fine here, even with Access. As I already said, I need a sample of how are you calling it.

EMG

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:42 am
by lucasdebeltran
Mr. Enrico,

Thank you very much. Your function works perfect. There is a bug at TDataRow managing Access numeric fields with decimals, not related to your function.

Best regards

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:14 pm
by nageswaragunupudi
lucasdebeltran wrote:Mr. Enrico,

Thank you very much. Your function works perfect. There is a bug at TDataRow managing Access numeric fields with decimals, not related to your function.

Best regards

Yes, in the case of blank row and it was fixed. You already have the fixed version with you

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:36 pm
by lucasdebeltran
Mr. Nages,

In the datarow.prg you sent me on 15th I still get the error.

The error only happens with MSACCESS, not with MySQL or MSSQL server.

Thank you.

Re: function to create tables for Access and MySQL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:21 pm
by Antonio Linares
Enrico,

Does your function support Memo fields ? How do you specify them ? thanks

Lucas,

I am using Enrico's code here and the Access tables are properly created with the autoinc counter