Page 1 of 1

harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:42 pm
by Horizon
Hi Antonio,

Is it possible to compile harbour for MSVC 2013?. I have compiled it with 2010, but it exe that is created cannot run Win XP. It is ok in win7.

Thanks.

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:17 pm
by Richard Chidiak
Hakan

I use MSVC 2012 , in order to generate a xp compatible exe you must have at your link options

/nologo /subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01 /force:multiple /NODEFAULTLIB:libc /nxcompat:NO /machine:X86 /Ignore:4006

I have not yet tested MSVC 2013, will do in january

Hth

Richard

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:07 pm
by Horizon
Thank you Richard,

I will test it tomorrow. I did not use 2012, but It seems database procedures in vs2013 is slower than vs2010. I use DBFCDX.

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:52 am
by Antonio Linares

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:30 am
by Horizon


Hi Antonio,

I have not tried yet. But as I said before, vs2103 is seems to be slower than 2010 without using your links harbour.

Thanks.

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:08 pm
by Horizon


Hi Antonio,

In order to make sure install vs2013 properly, I have uninstall and install it. And I used your last link harbour. I am not sure about the speed now. I should work it for a while. (Is there any database test prg, I can test it with vs2010 and vs2013). But I have some issues about vs2013.

hb_compiler() still says 16.0.xxxx, but I am sure I have compiled with the new version of vs2013. It says 18.0.xxxxx in compiler logo.

I cannot explain clearly, but I think there is a difference coordinate system of dialog. (I dont use window other than main window). I have changed automatic calculated buttons coordinates a few.

I can not run exe's in xp created with vs2013. Richard advised me the below link option. I have also tried it. but it runs exe but. there is no action. There was an error message like that "this is not a 32 bit application" without changing link parameters.

Code: Select all  Expand view
/nologo /subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01 /force:multiple /NODEFAULTLIB:libc /nxcompat:NO /machine:X86 /Ignore:4006


Any advise?

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:35 pm
by Antonio Linares
Hakan,

This should work: /subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01 as Fernando Gondi found.

Fernando, could you confirm it ? thanks

Re: harbour for MSVC 2013?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:06 pm
by fgondi
Si,
Compilo con MSVC2012 y uso:
Code: Select all  Expand view
/nologo /subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01 /force:multiple /NODEFAULTLIB:libc /nxcompat:NO /machine:X86 /Ignore:4006


Sin "/subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01", al ejecutar en windows 7 en adelante muestra un mensaje con "aplicaciĆ³n 32 no valida"

Richard Chidiak encontro que era necesario una actualizaciĆ³n para MSVC2012, quizas tambien hay que actualizar MSVC2013
http://forums.fivetechsupport.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27581

Yes,
I compile with MSVC2012 and i use:
Code: Select all  Expand view
/nologo /subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01 /force:multiple /NODEFAULTLIB:libc /nxcompat:NO /machine:X86 /Ignore:4006


without "/subsystem:WINDOWS,5.01", to run on windows 7 onwards shows a message "no valid application 32"

Richard Chidiak find an update for MSVC2012 necessary, perhaps also be updated MSVC2013
http://forums.fivetechsupport.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27581