MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby TimStone » Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:37 pm

There have been many threads about using Microsoft Visual Studio 2013, Harbour, and FWH ( 14.07 ). YES IT CAN BE DONE SUCCESSFULLY !

I have a rather large application, originally built with xHarbour (.com ), but now being built in the environment mentioned above. It has over 130 .prg files, each with 750 to 7500 lines of code. It addresses 110 .dbf's with .fpt and indexes. It works with DBFCDX, or ADS ( Local or Server ). It is very complex and highly integrated.

I now have the entire application running, built within Visual Studio. Here are a few things I would like to share:

1) Check the linker settings carefully. I was having problems with some code not having an entry point which was finally resolved with a linker setting. This was a specific piece of SSL code that other's might not every need to consider.
2) There are ample "getting started" threads on this site. You can use this combo successfully.
3) I am not a huge fan of the VS editor. So, for my .prg files, I was able to set VS to open the file in my Ultra Edit Studio. Changes made, and saved, were immediately reflected in Visual Studio, and I could instantly rebuild my code.

I have a lot more to do. I intend to refine my code to use full classes for major functional areas ( ie. customers, inventory, accounting capabilities ). I also am considering a transition to SQL.

My reason for posting this is that I want to encourage everyone to consider this path seriously. As we move into using this system, I believe we will find far more flexibility in our programming resources, and it may be much easier to build ancillary programs to interface with our primary applications.

I wish you all well in studying this capability. Without Antonio's persistent help, it would have not been possible. However, it has happened and we are better for it.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2930
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby MFarias » Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:35 am

Tim,
I also have this same desire already running some applications even provide a simple example in my https://github.com/matheushchaves/agendafivedbf git, here we have a company in the application of commercial management and sales of this size as well and Programmable Bank data, first I'm walking the walk MsSql (until the best support to VS MsSql) through to system compatibility with ADO that five is providing us, I will try this on my blog sharing matheusfarias.com.br (that is undergoing maintenance) all these experiences have already mounted agile tools to do this in FiveWin a more "pleasant" way .To me this moment this is fantastic :)
FW 17.09 - xHB 1.2.3 - Embarcadero C++ 7
xDevStudio 0.72 - FivEdit ( \o/ ) - Pelles C
MySQL 5.7 - DBF
FastReport - PHP for Web Services - Java Android
http://matheusfariasdev.wordpress.com
User avatar
MFarias
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:16 am
Location: João Pessoa,PB - Brazil

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby aferra » Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:51 pm

Hello Tim.

searched the forum but have not found information to compile FWH + msvc + harbour could help me?
aferra
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby cnavarro » Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:48 pm

Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
User avatar
cnavarro
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby TimStone » Fri Aug 08, 2014 11:38 pm

Here is a link on how to add .prg files to VS 2013. One thing to change. You are told how to change the configuration for each .prg. However, if you highlight the main project title in the Project Manager sidebar, then click on properties, make that same configuration change there. Then whenever you click to include it and set it to a Custom type, the two lines of text will fill in automatically. Confused ? You'll understand when you start to do this.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28674&p=160695&hilit=visual+studio#p160695

I will be on vacation until the 18th and not monitoring the forum very frequently.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2930
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Aug 09, 2014 5:49 am

Tim,

Thanks so much for your help :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41898
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby elvira » Mon Aug 18, 2014 8:50 am

Tim,

1) Check the linker settings carefully. I was having problems with some code not having an entry point which was finally resolved with a linker setting. This was a specific piece of SSL code that other's might not every need to consider.


Can you please explain this?.

Thanks!!!
elvira
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:49 pm

Re: MS Visual Studio 2013 / Harbour / FWH !

Postby TimStone » Mon Aug 18, 2014 4:17 pm

Elvira,

I will try. I found it just before I left for vacation, and shut my mind off on everything.

I was building the project first with a UE Studio make script. I used libs from Visual C++ 2013, and from the Visual Studio SDK 7.1A. Everything went together fine.

When I went into Visual Studio 2013 to do my build, I allowed it to select some of the libs without specifying them. Thus, I had some problems with newer versions of Windows libs ( apparently ). I will have to check that out. I will also need to ask Antonio to provide the latest MS FWH / Harbour builds with VS 2013 so we can weed out any incompatibilities.

I'm very comfortable with where this will all lead, but we do have a learning curve with Visual Studio. So much of what it does by default simply works well, but we need to be sure everything we link in is current. Otherwise we run into problems. In my case, it was a simple TIP/SSL issue that I encountered.

We just need to be sure everything we use is current.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2930
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests