Incremental Combobox

Post Reply
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2954
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Incremental Combobox

Post by TimStone »

The Combobox class from 08/2013 handles incremental search as the user enters characters. The exact same code with the current version of combobox does not.

PRG code:

Code: Select all | Expand


    REDEFINE COMBOBOX oCbx VAR oClir:clicty ITEMS aCit ID 865 OF oDcl ;
        STYLE CBS_DROPDOWN  MESSAGE "Enter the clients city" UPDATE
 


RC Code:

Code: Select all | Expand


  CONTROL "", 865, "ComboBox", WS_BORDER|CBS_DROPDOWN|WS_VSCROLL|WS_TABSTOP, 58, 100, 154, 191
 


What changed in the class, and what do I need to do to get it to work with the lastest code ?
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by James Bott »

Tim,

Try setting:

Code: Select all | Expand

oCbx:lIncremental:=.t.


I think it defaults to .f.

James
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2954
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by TimStone »

That was the first thing I tried before doing the post, and it was not working for me.

It actually has to be lIncSearch := .t.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by James Bott »

Tim,

Then I would suggest doing a file compare on the current and previous version.

James
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2954
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by TimStone »

I did that and there are a series of modifications to the incremental search. I'm assuming there is a shift in either the rc parameters, or the flag(s) I need to set, and that is not documented in the comparison.

I figured Antonio would know ...

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2954
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by TimStone »

Please respond !
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42512
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 73 times
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by Antonio Linares »

Tim,

Please compile And link The combobox.prg of The previous version that worked fine as another prg of your app until we check it, thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2954
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Incremental Combobox

Post by TimStone »

That is what I'm doing for now.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
Post Reply