xHb error - does anyone know what this means

xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby TimStone » Thu May 21, 2015 3:10 pm

I have two projects. #1 is larger, #2 is similar but with optimized coding so it is smaller.

Using xHb, with xBuildw, #1 builds without any problems. Using all of the same .lib and resource files, #2 gets the following error when linking:

xLINK: fatal error: Internal error: write_executable_image.

There are no errors in the compile, and the libraries linked in are identical.

Can anyone give me any ideas on what this error actually means. I asked yesterday on the xHarbour(.com) site, but no answers yet.

Also, it might be helpful to note that the actual .prg files can be built into an .exe using FWH, Harbour, and Visual Studio 2013 without error, and it runs fine. However, I also need an xHarbour build for some unique libraries.

Thanks for your ideas.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby Antonio Linares » Thu May 21, 2015 7:30 pm

Tim,

Try to erase all temporary files that you may have in the folder where you are building the EXE
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41316
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby TimStone » Thu May 21, 2015 8:10 pm

I erased the whole folder but that didn't help.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri May 22, 2015 7:46 am

Tim,

It seems as a xLINK bug manisfested by the size of the app.

Try to reorganize your PRGs so the size of your OBJs changes and maybe that avoids the error.

If not, then you have to ask xhb.com
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41316
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Fri May 22, 2015 3:31 pm

Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10249
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby TimStone » Fri May 22, 2015 6:13 pm

These suggest a possible ceiling of 64 MB.

If I build using a link script withing UE Studio, the .exe is 41 MB. If I build using Visual Studio 2013, the .exe is under 10 MB. Same exact code and specified libraries.

Is there an xHarbour flag that has this only link elements from the .lib files that are actually used ? Is their also one for the Windows Linker ? The .lib files provided to the linker are exactly the same, as are the .prg files. There is apparently a flag in Visual Studio that makes the size much smaller.

It's just one of those weeks ... challenging.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Fri May 22, 2015 9:53 pm

xhb.com's linker is Pelles C linker.
Hope the resources are all compiled by xhb's xrc.exe

If I build using a link script withing UE Studio, the .exe is 41 MB. If I build using Visual Studio 2013, the .exe is under 10 MB. Same exact code and specified libraries.

Surprising. The problem must be with the linkscript.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10249
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby TimStone » Fri May 22, 2015 11:41 pm

Surprise ... it's not that simple ...

Three compiler / linker combinations:

1) xHb.com ( Pelles )
2) Ultra Edit Studio
3) Visual Studio 2013

The source code is all the same ( in the exact same folder )
The called libraries are the same

Now, try to find the actual MakeFile for each one.

# 1 gets an error and won't build
# 2 now can't seem to write to the disk now when running the Harbour compiler ( so it doesn't get to the linking stage ).
# 3 Works fine and gives a build size of about 42 MB.

Not my idea of a fun day ....
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby Massimo Linossi » Wed May 25, 2016 11:14 am

Hello Tim
Have you found a solution for this error ?
I have the same problem. At the end of the build process I have this message :

xLINK: fatal error: Internal error: write_executable_image.

Thanks a lot
Massimo
User avatar
Massimo Linossi
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:38 am
Location: Italy

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby Wanderson » Wed May 25, 2016 12:39 pm

Hello, try to Split your resource files in 2 or more.
Wanderson
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:11 pm

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby Massimo Linossi » Wed May 25, 2016 2:40 pm

Hello.
I don't have resources inside the exe. I use one external DLL.
Thanks
User avatar
Massimo Linossi
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:38 am
Location: Italy

Re: xHb error - does anyone know what this means

Postby TimStone » Wed May 25, 2016 4:31 pm

That was a year ago, and I found an answer ... but can't remember what it was !
I now have everything working fine.

Thinking back, I believe I was linking in an extra file that made the build size far too large. I removed that and the build size was OK.

If I can locate that I will post what I found
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Antonio Linares and 13 guests