FWH 8.09 for MinGW - beta 1 ready

FWH 8.09 for MinGW - beta 1 ready

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:00 am

FWH 8.09 beta 1 built using MinGW (GNU C compiler) is ready! :-)

FWH 8.09 users, interested in testing it, please send me an email. Thanks,
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:39 pm

We want to publically thanks all the FWH for MinGW beta testers that have started using it :-)

Many thanks!
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:45 pm

The GNU gcc compiler is available for Windows, Windows Mobile, Linux, Mac, iPhone, etc.

So when you learn gcc, you are learning to use gcc for all those operating systems :-)

No other C compiler provides this power :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:07 am

For beta-testers only:

Please make this change in buildg.bat:

if exist %1.rc %mingw%\bin\windres -D__FLAT__ -DDIALOG=DIALOGEX -i%1.rc -o_%1.o

Now you can use your existing RC dialogs :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:48 am

Also please add this line at the top of the RC files:

#include "c:\fwh\include\WinApi.ch"
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:00 am

Here you have FWH\samples\TestXBrw.prg built using FWH 8.09 and MinGW gcc !!! :-)

http://rapidshare.com/files/146803868/testxbrw.zip.html

We just need to find the way to remove the console window that appears in the background.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Testing

Postby ukoenig » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:40 pm

Antonio,

I arranged everything for testing.
It works fine and no errors or problems inside the prg's,
but impossible, to add the borland RC-file.

Message :

Brwtools.rc : 51 : syntax error // the 1. source line
invalid argument

I included your changes in BUILDG.bat

Code: Select all  Expand view

if A%1 == A GOTO :SINTAX
if NOT EXIST %1.prg GOTO :NOEXIST

ECHO Compiling...

set hdir=d:\harbour
set hdirc=%hdir%\mingw32\harbour.exe
set hlibs=d:\harbour\mingw32
if "%fwh%" == "" set fwh=d:\fwh
set mingw=d:\mingw

%hdirc% %1 /n /i%fwh%\include;%hdir%\include /w /p %2 %3 > clip.log
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO COMPILEERROR
@type clip.log

%mingw%\bin\gcc -c %1.c -o%1.o -I%hdir%\include -I%mingw%\include -Wall
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO COMPILEERROR

if exist %1.rc %mingw%\bin\windres -D__FLAT__ -DFW=%fwh% -i%1.rc -o_%1.o
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO RESOURCESERROR



I think, the error comes from there, is there anything wrong ?

Regards
Uwe :lol:
Since 1995 ( the first release of FW 1.9 )
i work with FW.
If you have any questions about special functions, maybe i can help.
User avatar
ukoenig
 
Posts: 4043
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:44 pm

Uwe,

Please add this include at the beginning of the RC file:

#include "c:\fwh\include\winapi.ch"

also all files names (icons, cursors, bitmaps, etc.) must be between quotes: "filename...."

Also change this line in buildg.bat:

if exist %1.rc %mingw%\bin\windres -D__FLAT__ -DDIALOG=DIALOGEX -i%1.rc -o_%1.o
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Test

Postby ukoenig » Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:19 pm

Antonio,

i deleted for control all BMP-entrys
a return-test in the original directory was ok.

[code]
The first lines of the BAT-file :
// ---------------------------------

if A%1 == A GOTO :SINTAX
if NOT EXIST %1.prg GOTO :NOEXIST

ECHO Compiling...

set hdir=d:\harbour
set hdirc=%hdir%\mingw32\harbour.exe
set hlibs=d:\harbour\mingw32
if "%fwh%" == "" set fwh=d:\fwh
set mingw=d:\mingw

%hdirc% %1 /n /i%fwh%\include;%hdir%\include /w /p %2 %3 > clip.log
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO COMPILEERROR
@type clip.log

%mingw%\bin\gcc -c %1.c -o%1.o -I%hdir%\include -I%mingw%\include -Wall
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO COMPILEERROR

if exist %1.rc %mingw%\bin\windres -D__FLAT__ -DDIALOG=DIALOGEX -i%1.rc -o_%1.o
IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO RESOURCESERROR

// The first lines of the RC-file :
// ---------------------------------

#include "d:\fwh\include\winapi.ch"

#ifdef __FLAT__
1 24 "WindowsXP.Manifest"
#endif

#define BITMAP_10 10
#define DIALOG_11 11
#define DIALOG_10 10
#define BITMAP_9 9
#define BITMAP_8 8
#define IDC_CTEXT1 13
#define IDC_CTEXT2 15
#define DIALOG_9 9
#define IDC_PUSHBUTTON6 11
#define DIALOG_8 8
#define BITMAP_7 7
#define DIALOG_7 7
#define DIALOG_6 6
#define BITMAP_6 6
#define BITMAP_5 5
#define BITMAP_4 4
#define BITMAP_3 3
#define DIALOG_5 5
#define DIALOG_1 1
#define BITMAP_2 2
#define BITMAP_1 1

#define ES_AUTOVSCROLL 0x0040

#define DIALOG_4 4
#define DIALOG_3 3
#define DIALOG_2 2

// !!!!! The error starts at begin of the first resource => DIALOG DIALOG -129, 19, 459, 297

The DOS-error-message :
Syntax error BRWTOOLS.RC:0: fatal error whwn writing output to : invalid argument compilation terminated
*resources* error
That means: the error doesn't come from the BMP-files
This RC-file works ok, when compiled with Borland.

DIALOG DIALOG -129, 19, 459, 297
STYLE DS_MODALFRAME | 0x4L | WS_POPUP | WS_VISIBLE | WS_CAPTION | WS_SYSMENU
CAPTION "Dialog de prueba - posibles bugs"
FONT 11, "Arial"
{
CONTROL "", 110, FOLDER32, 0 | WS_CHILD | WS_VISIBLE | WS_TABSTOP, 141, 2, 315, 292
EDITTEXT 300, 3, 138, 134, 156, ES_MULTILINE | ES_AUTOVSCROLL | WS_BORDER | WS_VSCROLL | WS_HSCROLL | WS_TABSTOP
PUSHBUTTON "Header / Footer", 500, 3, 123, 134, 13
PUSHBUTTON "XBrowse-Preview", 210, 3, 1, 134, 13
CONTROL "", 200, "TXBrowse", 0 | WS_CHILD | WS_VISIBLE | WS_TABSTOP, 3, 16, 134, 105
}

[code]

I tested without RC-files, to see if i get a EXE-file
There was a error :
MULTIPLE definition of HB_FUN_MESSAGEBOX
....

Is it possible, to save a error-message to a txt-file from inside the DOS-window ?
it makes it better, to explain.

Regards
Uwe :lol:
Last edited by ukoenig on Sat Sep 20, 2008 5:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Since 1995 ( the first release of FW 1.9 )
i work with FW.
If you have any questions about special functions, maybe i can help.
User avatar
ukoenig
 
Posts: 4043
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Rossine » Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:26 pm

Antonio,

Algumas observações sobre o seu exemplo "TESTXBRW.EXE":

Tamanho: 1.772.544
Tamanho usando upx: 477.184

... e usando o meu compilador:

Tamanho: 2.004.992
Tamanho usando upx: 592.384

Gostei disto pois o .EXE fica em média 12% menor e usando o UPX em média 20% :)

Perguntas:

1) Porque ao executar o seu exemplo, é aberta uma preta "Prompt MS-DOS" antes do programa ser executado ?

2) Com este novo compilador o sistema rodará mais rápido ?

Obrigado e parabéns por mais esta ferramenta :D

Gracias Maestro,

Rossine.
Obrigado, Regards, Saludos

Rossine.

Harbour and Harbour++
Rossine
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:33 am

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:45 pm

Uwe,

>
There was a error :
MULTIPLE definition of HB_FUN_MESSAGEBOX
>

We email you a new beta that we are testing here :-)

Its the one that we have used for TestXBrw.exe
Last edited by Antonio Linares on Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:48 pm

Rossine,

>
1) Porque ao executar o seu exemplo, é aberta uma preta "Prompt MS-DOS" antes do programa ser executado ?
>

We believe it is a harbour issue related to the GT driver. We are doing more tests.

> 2) Com este novo compilador o sistema rodará mais rápido ?

We don't know it yet, but it may be similar, probably. The Windows speed limit is imposed but the Windows GUI not by the used C compiler.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Screensaver

Postby ukoenig » Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:01 pm

Hello,
I found a printscreen-tool to include a DOS-box

PRG
Image

Resource
Image

Regards
Uwe :lol:
Since 1995 ( the first release of FW 1.9 )
i work with FW.
If you have any questions about special functions, maybe i can help.
User avatar
ukoenig
 
Posts: 4043
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:20 pm

Uwe,

We have emailed you a new beta that solves the HB_FUN_MESSAGEBOX error :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:21 pm

Uwe,

Please change this:

DIALOG DIALOG -129, 19, 459, 297

into

DIALOG DIALOGEX -129, 19, 459, 297
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Next

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests