Socket client.prg/server.prg

Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:20 pm

Hello
I'm communicating with other Pcs with examples and server.prg client.prg, execelente.
I wonder if after I connect with another pc can make a network drive mapping like this:
net use z: \ \ server name \ share name

thank you

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:16 pm

Hello everybody
I wonder if this is possible or not.

thank you

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:22 pm

Edvaldo,

samples/client.prg connect to the IP where the server is running.

To check accessibility you could use:

ping server_IP

and see if it is available
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby Rick Lipkin » Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:24 pm

Edvaldo

Why do you need to map a drive .. you can access any file or database via the UNC if you have the proper permissions..

Code: Select all  Expand view

Use ( "\\server\share\Table.dbf") via "DBFCDX" Shared
 


Rick
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:04 am

Excellent, Rick
I tested "Use (" \ \ server \ share \ Table.dbf ") via" DBFCDX "Shared" and it worked fine and solved my problem.

Very grateful to you.

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:38 am

hello,
I am communicating with other networked pcs wi fi, great, but I can not communicate with another pc outside your network or wi fi. What I have to do to get communication with other pc ip as does the team viewer, logmein and other communications programs, using the class tsocket?

Onbrigado

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby Marcelo Via Giglio » Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:56 am

Evaldo,

when you are connected to a WiFi router usually you have behind a private network, then you dpn't have your tcp port outside the network, you can configure the router to do Port Address Translation but this is not always possible.

Other service like teamviewer use a intermediate server in a public network (internet) and this work like mediator between pc behind private network.

Regards

Marcelo
Marcelo Via Giglio
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:43 am

Marcelo thank you for the clarification.
What indicates to you I use as a mediator for my system work?

thank you

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby Marcelo Via Giglio » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:24 pm

Evaldo,

sorry I don't have an answer to you, I don't know if there is a services for this type of work, but first try to configure your wifi router

regards

Marcelo
Marcelo Via Giglio
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:04 pm

Marcelo ok thank you.
With wi fi everything I can, connect, send data, send files, all right.
The problem is with other pcs.
I can not ping the ip. Example: ping 192.168.0.10

thank you very much

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby Jeff Barnes » Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:44 am

Evaldo,

You might want to try setting up a VPN to access computers outside your local network.
There are some free VPN services you can use.
LogMeIn has one called LogMeIn Hamachi.

Have a look here:

https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi/
Thanks,
Jeff Barnes

(FWH 16.11, xHarbour 1.2.3, Bcc730)
User avatar
Jeff Barnes
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:24 am

Ok Jeff did.
I'm wanting to build my own logmein in FiveWin tsocket using the class, you know?

thank you

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby Gale FORd » Sat Dec 08, 2012 6:57 pm

Networking is not always easy. When you are trying to ping or connect to ip address 192.168.0.10 it tells me a couple of things. 192.168.0.10 is an address that is usually local area network.

Even if it is on a local network it may not be able to route to your address. Do this on both computers.
Open DOS command prompt and run.
ipconfig /all
Look for the gateway address. You must have the same gateway or you will have to setup the router to manage the ip packet routing to make it work.

If the other computer is on a different network then you either have to have a static ip routed to your internal 192.168.0.10 or you have to setup a VPN that makes it look like you are on the same network.

Logmein and the others act like gateways. They have software that runs on the remote pc and announces itself to their server. Then when you want to connect to it, the remote connects through the Logmein server. That is how it can talk to another pc without the static address or being on the local network.
Gale FORd
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:22 pm
Location: Houston

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:16 am

Gale Ford very good.
I was thinking of developing my own remote access program in FiveWin without relying on other tools, but I see the explanations of friends is not so simple.

Thanks to all

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Socket client.prg/server.prg

Postby edvaldo » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:13 am

Hello friends,
I managed to do other pcs to communicate with my pc via IP using the class tsocket.
But even with an account on no-ip my IP is always changing. I need so that other PCs to connect to my pc using the domain name instead of IP, for example meudominio.zapto.org.
Can someone help me solve this?

From already thank you

Edvaldo
edvaldo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:38 pm

Next

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], lzanardo, nageswaragunupudi and 48 guests