Error system not working ?

Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:55 pm

I had used errsysw_ for many months and it had been working fine. I had modified it slightly. Suddenly with 13.08 it wasn't working.

I tried not declaring an error system ( so errsys would come in by default ) but it also fails to work.

I set a button to call MsgInfo( BadData ) which should cause an error because BadData is not defined. Instead, I just get a message that the program quit working.

What changed recently, and what do I need to do to get this working again ? It is the same with Harbour / MSVC and xHarbour (.com) builds.

Thanks.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:33 pm

Tim,

I have just tested FWH/samples/testerro.prg and worked fine, please try it.

Could you provide an example to reproduce what you described ? thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:36 pm

This also worked as expected: (tested with both Borland and MSVC)

Code: Select all  Expand view
#include "FiveWin.ch"

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//

function Main()

   MsgInfo( "An error is going to be generated", "Press to continue" )

   // USE NotFound

   MsgInfo( badData )

return nil
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:14 pm

Antonio,

It is likely the problem will arise in a conflict with a library or file I'm linking in.

Errorsys is working correctly with FWH 13.08 and MSVC.

It is failing with xHarbour ( .com ).

I use the same code files when building with either compiler/linker. However, you have me including the following files when building with xHarbour ( .com ):

xHb2HbFunc.prg
contains the following 2 functions:

FUNCTION ActXPDispPtr( cObjActX )
RETURN ActXPDisp( cObjActX )

function FWOpenPngFile()
return 0

harbor.prg 9/4/2012

xhb.obj 6/10/2009

mem32.lib 9/29/2011
send32.lib 11/22/2011

Using a simple process of elimination, it would be likely that there is a problem with one of those files which is causing the error system to fail. I don't think I will see that with the sample you suggest.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:12 pm

Antonio,

I still have the error problem with xHarbour. Please see the previous post on this thread. There are two functions and 3 libs which are the ONLY difference between the successful error system with Harbour/MSVC, and the failed xHarbour.com implementation:

harbor.prg
mem32.lib
send32.lib

Note the older dates. Also please note the two functions you have had me use which are also shown.

Are there newer versions of these files ?

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:41 pm

Tim,

When the app quits do you get a log file ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:43 pm

Tim,

Please add this function to your app to see if this is the problem (it is something that we commented in the past):

function nExtMem()

return 0
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:48 pm

No it was not creating a log file.

Yes, that function fixed the problem.

Thank you.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:59 pm

The default Errorsys is working.

Errsysw_ is not. This is the nicer one because it allows a customer to take an action and email the error log to support immediately ( a huge service ).

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby cnavarro » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:12 pm

Antonio
Con la ultima version de FWH no me salen los errores, solo un dialogo indicándome el error tal y como indicaba Tim en sus post anteriores y tampoco genera el error.log
Si incluyo Errosys.prg en el proyecto, si me genera el error.log
He probado tal y como indicas añadiendo la funcion que has puesto, y, si no añado el programa errorsys.prg tampoco me genera el error.log
Cuando he probado el programa testerro.prg de samples si me crea el error.log
Pero, cosa curiosa, en mi error.log de mi aplicacion si me sale la version correcta de FWH y, sin embargo, en el error.log del programa testerro.prg aparece FWH 13.07
También señalar que los ficheros error.log que genera no son tan descriptivos y completos como antes
Uso Windows 8 64 bits
Adjunto el del testerro.prg
Code: Select all  Expand view

Application
===========
   Path and name: C:\Fwh\Fwh1308_3\samples\testerro.exe (32 bits)
   Size: 2,892,800 bytes
   Compiler version: Harbour 3.2.0dev (r1306132159)
   FiveWin  Version: FWH 13.07
   Windows version: 6.2, Build 9200

   Time from start: 0 hours 0 mins 1 secs
   Error occurred at: 10/15/13, 22:26:50
   Error description: (DOS Error 2) DBFNTX/1001  Open error: NotFound.dbf

Stack Calls
===========
   Called from:  => DBUSEAREA( 0 )
   Called from: testerro.prg => MAIN( 11 )

System
======
   CPU type: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz 2300 Mhz
   Hardware memory: 8152 megs

   Free System resources: 90 %
        GDI    resources: 90 %
        User   resources: 90 %

   Windows total applications running: 2
      1 ,                                                                                                    
      2 Conmutación de tareas, C:\Fwh\Fwh1308_3\samples\testerro.exe                                                              

Variables in use
================
   Procedure     Type   Value
   ==========================
   DBUSEAREA
     Param   1:    O    Class: ERROR
   MAIN
     Param   1:    L    .F.
     Param   2:    U    
     Param   3:    C    "NotFound"
     Param   4:    U    
     Param   5:    U    
     Param   6:    L    .F.
     Local   1:    U    
     Local   2:    U    

Linked RDDs
===========
   DBF
   DBFFPT
   DBFBLOB
   DBFNTX

DataBases in use
================

Classes in use:
===============
     1 ERROR
     2 HBCLASS
     3 HBOBJECT
     4 TREG32

Memory Analysis
===============
      194 Static variables

   Dynamic memory consume:
      Actual  Value:          0 bytes
      Highest Value:          0 bytes



Anthony
With the latest version of FWH not I get errors, just a dialog telling me the error as indicated Tim in his previous post and does not generate the error.log
If Errosys.prg included in the project, if I generate the error.log
I tried just adding the function as you indicate that you post, and if I do not add me either program generates errorsys.prg error.log
When I tested the program testerro.prg of samples if I make the error.log
But, curiously, in my error.log (from my application I get the correct version) and yet in the error.log testerro.prg program appears FWH 13.07
Also note that the error.log files generated are not as descriptive and complete as before
Using 64-bit Windows 8
Enclosed is the testerro.prg
Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
User avatar
cnavarro
 
Posts: 6504
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:32 am

Cristobal,

Puedes proporcionar un PRG de ejemplo en el que ocurra ? gracias
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:36 pm

Antonio,

Did you see my note above on errsysw_ ? The one included in the 13.08 Source files is not working ...

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:51 pm

Tim,

You mentioned that you have modified it, please post your changes here so we can test it.

What error do you get ? No error at all ?

We have not included that errorsys as the standard one in FWH as we found that it should be modified. It is pending, and it is great that you provide us feedback about it :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby TimStone » Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:38 pm

Antonio,

My original one was modified, but that is NOT the one I tested. I took the one from 13.08 in the source files, unmodified, and linked that in, but it failed.

The only changes I had made were to add several lines to the output to identify the computer used, and the company name. I was able to add those to the standard errorsys file in 13.08, and they were fine. However, the expanded program you distribute, without any changes ( errsysw_.prg ) fails. It does not give an error message.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Error system not working ?

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:35 pm

Tim,

We don't use that errorsys (errorsys_.prg) yet. We just included it in the sources to keep a copy of it as we plan to include it once is tested and works fine.

I am going to test it and see what I find. Thanks for your feedback
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Next

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 35 guests