RMChart tooltips work with xHarbour alone, but not xHb + FWH

RMChart tooltips work with xHarbour alone, but not xHb + FWH

Postby Roger Seiler » Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:26 pm

Antonio,

When you get a chance, please take a look at the self-contained test package from the URL below. It contains an RMChart bar graph in two versions.

RmcToolT.prg displays the graph on a window created without FWH just using the MS function CreateWindowEX(), and in this version the RMChart tooltips work. If you pause the mouse over a graph bar, a tooltip shows the bar's data.

But if the identical graph function is put inside the FWH program, RmcFwhT1.prg then the tooltips don't work. Other mouse actions used in other Rmchart functions don't work either in FWH, perhaps related to whatever is preventing tooltips to work.

Maybe you can see a solution so we can get this free library with over 160 graphic functions working properly for FWH developers.

Here's the URL for the test package...

http://www.leadersoft.com/software/rmcfwht1.zip

Thanks in advance for taking a look.

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:24 pm

Roger,

Are you using an ActiveX to manage that control ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby richard-service » Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:22 am

Hi Roger,

I use RMChart ActiveX into my App.
Tooltip work fine when mouse touch any Bar or Pie and show data.

Regards,

Richard
User avatar
richard-service
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:57 am
Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan

Postby Roger Seiler » Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:02 am

Antonio,

No, I'm not using ActiveX for anything.

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:49 am

Roger,

You need to clean your code and properly organize it. Its quite messy.

Here you have the tooltips working:
http://www.hotshare.net/file/49309-7777820948.html
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Roger Seiler » Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:54 am

Antonio,

To further clarify, I am only using the RMChart.dll in the test application. This is a very simple app (RmcFwhT1.prg) that just loads the Rmchart DLL, creates a main window, a child window, a menu to call one Rmchart function, and also contains the DLLxHb function calls that utilize DLLxHb.ch to access the DLL via the xHb function DLLCALL().

So ActiveX should not be involved at all.

This FWH test app is virtually identical to the RmcToolT.prg test app, which does not use FWH. Instead it utilizes the Microsoft function CreateWindowEX() to create a window to serve as the framework for the test app. Yet in this version of the test app, also utilizing RMChart.dll, the tooltips work okay.

Again, the tests - including a fully explanatory readme.txt - can be downloaded from:

http://www.leadersoft.com/software/rmcfwht1.zip

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:08 pm

Roger,

Download the EXE that I have posted and check it. Tooltips are working.

Image
Last edited by Antonio Linares on Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:28 pm

Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Roger Seiler » Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:45 pm

Antonio,

I'm sure my code can always be improved!

Did you see anything there that specifically was causing the tooltips problem with FWH but not in the non-FWH version so that I can fix it?

I looked for your posting of the exe but couldn't find it.

Thanks for looking at this.

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:49 pm

Roger,

My modified EXE and PRG are here:
http://www.hotshare.net/file/49309-7777820948.html

You were creating a child window on top of the chart so the mouse events were not properly routed to the chart control

Personally I would recomend Alfredo Arteaga's Class TGraph included in FWH as you have full source code for it and can modify it as you want / need.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Roger Seiler » Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:01 pm

Aha! Now I see the problem. I got confused about how to use the child window for this, which is apparently needed by RMChart for its magnification and scrolling functions. Thanks for pointing out that coding error to me.

I will take another look at TGraph. However, when I've looked at it before, it didn't seem to have the broad range of graphic functionality available as in RMChart nor the visual elegance. But certainly it is preferable to have all the code self-contained in the app instead of having to rely on a 3rd party DLL, and that is definitely an advantage of TGraph. So I'll see if I can get the same "look" with TGraph as with RMChart.

Thanks again for your QUICK help, Antonio!

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Apr 15, 2008 6:32 pm

Roger,

Please review fwh\samples\graph.prg working sample.

See the graphics quality of it:
Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41406
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Roger Seiler » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:56 pm

Antonio,

Thanks for the suggestion. I have compiled graph.prg and also looked closely at TGraph. I think both tools - TGraph and RMChart - have their uses, and each developer will just have to choose which is best for a particular situation.

Many thanks again for your help in getting the RMChart tooltips to work.

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA

Postby Roger Seiler » Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:14 am

Here is a small comparison of graph styles, TGraph versus RMChart...

Image

Note the subtle 3D shading in RMChart, and its tooltips. Plus, RMChart has available many times more types and styles of charts than are currently available in TGraph. It seems that customers are likely to be more impressed with the quality of RMChart graphs, and they are quick and easy to develop with the RMChart IDE - all for free from RMChart.com .

- Roger
User avatar
Roger Seiler
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Nyack, New York, USA


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests